Little things

Mingli does lots of little things that I don’t want to put as a whole blog post, but I still want to share, so I am going to start collecting several and then putting them all in one post.

One morning Mingli dropped a pack of tortillas in my lap and said “cheese,” so we had cheese quesadillas for lunch. Mingli was so excited, they are one of his favorites. He is getting better and better at expressing what he is wanting.

One morning I brought him into our bed to cuddle for a few minutes while we were all waking up, which is what usually happens in the morning.  For a while Mingli had been responding with “love you” when I told him I loved him, but this morning as we were cuddling he spontaneously said “I love you.”  He said it to me, and then a few minutes later he climbed onto Kaanas’s chest and said it to him.  It was so cute.

One evening Mingli was playing with his Duplos in the living room and he threw one of them.  He looked at me and said “where Duplo go?”  That was his thing for the rest of the evening.  He wandered around the apartment for the rest of the evening saying that and bringing me all the Duplos he could find.

We left our vacuum in the corner of the living room one day and it was still plugged in.  Mingli was walking by it and he dropped one of his heavy toys, right onto the button that turns the vacuum on.  He had never seen the vacuum come on without mommy or daddy touching it and he completely freaked out.  He wouldn’t stop hyperventilating(seriously, he was almost having a panic attack) until we put the vacuum in the closet and let him shut the door.  I had never seen him so freaked out, and I felt really bad.  Since then we have made sure not to leave the vacuum where he can accidentally turn it on, although he pretty much stays away from it.

My brother went out and got us Dairy Queen one night and I shared my blizzard with Mingli.  I took a bite and then I gave him a bite(though much smaller because I didn’t want him eating too much).  After a while of this Mingli stopped, pointed to me, and said “you,” then he pointed to himself and said “me.”  It was so cute, first because he was talking about us sharing the ice cream, and second because he has never used pronouns before and was able to get them correct his first time using them.

I got up with Mingli one morning and as we were going out into the hall we heard scratching coming from the laundry room.  Mingli’s eyes got really big and he pointed and said “what’s that?”  Just then my dad came out of his bedroom and Mingli started pointing and asking my dad “what’s that? what’s that?”  Dad said it was a door, but I told him Mingli meant the sound from behind the door.  Dad opened it and the dog ran out.  Mingli was a bit amazed.  That is also the first time he has ever asked a “what” question.

Leave a Reply

