Happy Easter!

Last night Kaanas and I got our apartment set up with Easter baskets (really simple, just a chocolate bunny, one special treat each, and a few plastic eggs with chocolates) and hid some plastic eggs (with the same chocolate) around our living room (by hid, I mean put around in plain sight so a young toddler could find them).  When Kaanas got home from working the night shift we brought Mingli out to the living room, showed him the baskets, and showed him how to put the eggs in the baskets.  He had a lot of fun gathering the eggs, until he discovered there was chocolate in them, then he just wanted to open them and eat the chocolate.  He was a little upset when we only let him have 1 piece of chocolate and a bite of his chocolate bunny. After our egg hunt and breakfast we called my parents and then watched some Christ centered shows.  It was really a nice, relaxing morning.

Church was pretty hard today.  I was really excited about the lesson I was teaching, and I had come up with some ideas that I thought the children would like.  I did feel like the lesson went really well, and that the children were able to feel the importance of what was being taught and able to feel the spirit.  The only problem was that I was feeling horrible sick all through church, and since Kaanas worked last night and again tonight he was sleeping, so I was teaching alone.  I really wasn’t sure I was going to make it all the way through, but I did.

When we got home we woke up Kaanas and went outside to take Easter pictures.  I think we got some cute ones, and I am excited to send them out to family.  We didn’t have anyone to take a family picture of us, so I set the camera on a picnic table and set it to record.  We recorded ourselves for about 30 seconds, and I am going to go back and take pictures from that video.

In my family our traditional Easter dinner is foods that Christ ate during his life, specifically ones mentioned in the scriptures.  We have fish, mini bread loves and honey, olives, figs, and grape juice.  I loved that tradition, but Kaanas hates fish, so we have been trying to work out a new Easter dinner tradition.  This year we went ahead and had ham and potatoes.  Kaanas cooked it,  because I was really not feeling well.  I was really happy that I was actually able to eat it, but then I wasn’t able to keep all of it down.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Easter!

Leave a Reply

