Bad mommy confession

Mingli has recently started becoming really interested in Little Einsteins, the T.V. show.  I really like this.  I know everyone says little children should not watch T.V., and Mingli doesn’t watch much, but I have started using this show.  It is perfect if I am super tired and just want to rest for 20 minutes.  We get a snack, turn on the show, curl up together on the couch or the recliner, and I doze while Mingli watches an episode of his show.  I know that if he is sitting in my lap he is not getting into any trouble, and I am a light enough sleeper that if Mingli tries to climb down (which he has) I wake up.  He doesn’t usually sit for more than 1 episode, which is fine with me, I don’t want him watching endless T.V., I just need to close my eyes for a minute.  At the moment he has a tooth and two molars coming in, which means he hasn’t been sleeping the best, which means I haven’t been sleeping the best.  I am exhausted a lot of the time, and I don’t do well when I am tired, I tend to start randomly crying.  So I know I shouldn’t be using the T.V. as a babysitter, but right now it is the only way I am managing.  I feel super guilty about it, and like I am an awful mom, but I have realized that it is hard to raise kids without feeling like an awful mom occasionally.

Leave a Reply

