Happy New Year!

It’s hard to believe 2016 is over, but now we are moving into 2017.  Kaanas and are are both trying to be more organized this year.  I have used a lot of different types of planners in the past, but none of them have worked for me.  Last week we got me a Day-Timer and I am liking it so far.  It is more like a binder, so I can add in and take away pages, which is something that is making it work a lot better.  I have taken out all the pages that I don’t want, and have designed and printed out pages that I needed that weren’t in there.  We’ll see how this goes.

Last week I hurt myself at work, or rather rehurt myself.  During my pregnancy with Mingli I had really bad morning sickness.  I threw up so much that I actually pulled the muscles in my abdomen.  They were never able to heal correctly because after pulling them I continues to throw up multiple times every day for the next few months, and then they were also stretched with the pregnancy.  Because of that I frequently have a bit of trouble with it.  If I get sick or lift anything too heavy my abdomen will start hurting for a few days.  Usually it is not too bad, but last week at work I tried to help lift a hot water heater.  That was a very bad idea.  For the rest of the night I could barely stand and they had to get me a stool to sit on while I helped customers.  It hasn’t gotten much better since then.  I am having a hard time lifting Mingli, or even just doing the ordinary bending and twisting it takes to pick up the living room, and any kind of strenuous activity is out.

Friday we left to visit Kaanas’s family.  We don’t get up to see them nearly as often as we would like, so when we discovered we both had a few days off over new year’s we decided to take the opportunity to visit them.  It was especially nice since Iwan, Kaanas’s brother, is engaged and we got to meet her for the first time.  We were going to go play laser tag with them, but had to cancel after I hurt myself, since it was hard for me to walk and move around.  Instead we went out to see a movie, Moana, which I thought was pretty cute.  It was nice to get to know her a bit better, since she will be our new sister in law.  The rest of the time we hung out with Kaanas’s family.  It was really nice for Mingli to get to spend some time with his grandparents and aunts and uncle.  I always figure the more people a child has in his/her life who truly love them the better they are, and both of our families definitely love Mingli.  Mingli also got to spend some time around cats and a dog, which he doesn’t get to do often.  He was especially fascinated with the dog, probably because the dog didn’t run away from him like the cats.  He also learned pretty quickly that the dog was called both dog and puppy, and he started using both words for it.

We didn’t have too much of a New Year’s Eve party.  We bought games, snacks, a movie, and noise makers, but then almost everyone went to bed before midnight.  Both Kaanas and I ended up going to be early, because we were driving home the next day and wanted to make sure we were well rested.  I was a bit disappointed, but I also didn’t want to crash on the way home because I fell asleep.

Leave a Reply

