Baby led weaning

I have been having a little bit of trouble getting Mingli to eat food.  He refuses to let me feed him anything.  Even finger foods that he loves if I try and put them in his mouth he clamps his mouth shut and turns away.  A couple of months ago I finally gave up trying to feed him and now just give him finger foods that he can feed himself.  It has been a little frustrating because I have been having trouble finding a good variety of foods that he can eat himself, especially proteins, that are soft enough for him to gum.  Well, a couple of days ago I stumbled onto some baby led weaning sites.  Baby led weaning is a way of introducing solids to babies, and one of the things they do is only give the baby foods they can feed themselves.  I found so many ideas and recipes for things Mingli can eat.  One of the things I am really excited about is this little sandwich thing where you mix canned salmon, avocado, and boiled egg yolks and then make a little sandwich out of it and cut it into small squares for the baby.  This sounds really yummy, has the protein I have been wanting Mingli to get more of, has so many good fats that will help his brain development, and sounds really easy.  I now have an avocado sitting on my counter getting ripe and I can’t wait to try it.  I also have a bunch of cut up butternut squash in the freezer that I am going to bake with a little bit of cinnamon for Mingli to have for dinner sometimes.  I am so excited about some of these new ideas, and I feel like Mingli is finally going to be eating good food.

Leave a Reply

