Teaching kit

So Kaanas and I were shopping the other day and he told me that he wanted to show me something. He took me back to the toy section and showed me these three teaching kits, one for babies, one for toddlers, and one for preschoolers. He had just put them on clearance and thought I might like them. I was a little hesitant at first, because they have flash cards for babies, but the more I looked at them the more I thought they might be fun. I was not going to do anything that involved drilling by baby with flash cards, but I started thinking of different activities I could do using the materials in the kits. I have been really excited about homeschooling Mingli and having a hard time waiting until he was old enough to start doing school with him, so I was kind of excited about this. The baby kits has several different sets with it, including an animal one, a parts of the face one, and a first words one. So far I have only used the first words one, but Mingli and I had fun with it. There was a little board book that we read, then it had little puzzles. There were like ten one piece puzzles, and after showing Mingli how the pieces came out and then went back in I just let him play with them. He just waved them around, but he accidentally knocked two of the pieces out. I figure after a while of knocking the pieces out he will start trying to take them out, and then eventually he will start putting them back in, but I will let him go at the pace he is ready for. Right now I am just giving him the materials and letting him explore them. I am really excited to use the parts of the face kit. It has stacking blocks and each block has a different part of the face, like a nose, but then on one side there is a mirror. Mingli loves mirrors, so I think he will like that one. The animal one also has textured flash cards, so I think that will be fun. I think I am just going to pick one a day and let Mingli explore it. Eventually we can start doing things like making the animal sounds and naming the parts of the face, but only when Mingli is ready and only as much as he is having fun with it.

Leave a Reply

