Date night (well, afternoon)

We spent yesterday visiting my brother, Roark, and his wife, Anais, who live about an hour away from us.  First off, we found out they are having a baby!  That means Kaanas and I will be an aunt and uncle!  And Mingli will have a cousin!  We are so excited for them.  Roark told me that I am a bad influence on Anais because I told her that morning sickness is better if you eat before getting out of bed in the morning, which means Roark should bring her breakfast in bed.

While we were up there Roark and Anais watched Mingli so Kaanas and I could go out on a date.  We went out to eat at a Chinese place, which was ok but not the best, and then we were going to go to a movie.  When we were finished with lunch we still had half an hour until the movie started, so I thought it would be fun to go to a home decor store in the area.  I had been to this store and gotten several things for wedding decorations from it, so I knew I liked it.  I promised Kaanas that I would not buy anything, I just wanted to walk around with him and wait until it was time to go to the movie.  I really meant it when I said I wasn’t going to buy anything, but then we got to the store and they were having a huge sale.  Even with that I started off trying to be good, I really did.  The problem is that Kaanas just loves me too much and knows it makes me happy when he buys me things.  We spent $80 in about 10 minutes.  We got a tone of good stuff, though, including a large bookshelf, a mirror for the entryway, some artwork, a large vase, and some Easter decorations.  Really it was a great deal, all at least 50% off, some more.  After that we went to a movie.  It was nice to watch a movie without having to be constantly entertaining a squirming baby and trying to keep him quiet/having to sit outside the theater because he is refusing to be quiet and you want others to be able to enjoy their movie.

After we got back we hung out with Roark and Anais, then headed home.  It was a really fun day.

Leave a Reply

