9-11

I’ve never written about my memories of 9-11.  I was only 12 that day.  I remember my mom calling us into the living room and telling us that something had happened.  We watched the news, and I saw another plane hit the second tower.  I ran up to my room and started crying and praying.  I spent most of that day running up to my room, saying a prayer, and then coming back down to be with my family.  I did not understand how people could do that to other people, and I was scared.  Suddenly my world felt so unsafe.  My mom kept us all home from church on Sunday because we were all so shook up and she knew there would be people talking about it.  It has taken me years to process my feelings of that day.  The thing that has brought me the most peace is a scripture from John 14:27.  “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you.  Not as the world giveth, give I unto you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”  I will never forget what happened that day, but I will also never forget where I can go for true peace.

Leave a Reply

