Quiet time

I am a really big introvert.  I love being around people, but if I do not get quiet alone time every day my stress and anxiety levels begin to go through the roof.  For a while after Mingli was born it was really hard, because he took so much energy all day.  We went to bed and got up at the same time, and I felt like all day I was taking care of him, and then when he went to sleep I would rush to get as much done as I could before he woke up again.  By the end of the day when Kaanas went to work I was so frazzled I would just collapse into bed, often crying.  Lately I have been putting Mingli to bed earlier, and then after Kaanas leaves for work I have an hour or two when I am the only one home and awake, and it is so nice.  Right now I feel like I should be doing dishes, or folding clothes, or mopping, or doing any one of the million things on my to-do list, but I have realized I need this time.  This quiet time when not even Kaanas is here is so essential to my emotional health.  I have decided to stop feeling guilty about taking this time for myself.  My emotional health is more important than the extra things I could get done during this time.

Leave a Reply

