Mastitis

Yesterday I started having severe pain in one of my breasts, especially when I was nursing.  By the evening I felt cold, achy, weak, shaky, my breast was hot, and my head hurt.  When I woke up this morning my legs felt so weak and shaky I wasn’t sure they would support me, and even under two blankets I was shivering.  After doing some research and talking to my mom I am pretty sure I have mastitis.  Poor Kaanas got home from work at 7 am and had to take care of me.  I am really lucky to have such a great husband.  He has been really worried about me all day and has helped me so much.  It has been rough, though, because no matter how sick I feel I still need to take care of Mingli, and it has been hard to force myself to do that today.  After a lot of nursing, pumping, heat, and massage I am feeling a bit better.  Still sick, but not as much as I was this morning.  I am hoping this continues and I do not have to go to the doctor.  If it starts getting worse again I will have to go in, though.  One thing I know, I will never use sports bras as nursing bras again (the suspected cause of the mastitis).

Leave a Reply

