Six months

Yesterday Kaanas and I celebrated our six month anniversary.  It seems strange, both that we have already been married six months and that we have only been married six months.  My life has change in so many ways, and I know it will keep changing.  I remember when Kaanas and I had been married just a month, and I looked at him and realized how much my feelings for him had changed in that short amount of time, how much stronger they had become.  I can hardly believe how they have continued to grow since we have been married.  Everything about being with him feels right.  Even when we are just walking through the grocery store together, it feels like my life is just the way it is supposed to be.  That is not to say Kaanas and I haven’t had our problems.  We are both human, we have made mistakes, and we have had disagreements, but I feel like our problems have made us stronger instead of pushing us apart.  Communication has always been one of my weak points, so we have really worked on it in our relationship.  We try to hold weekly councils where we can talk about how we feel things are going.  We make sure to talk about both the good and the bad.  We always do this in a respectful, calm way, and try to work out any differences so we are both happy.  We have learned how to listen to each other and try to help the other person so they have what they need.  This also helps problems get taken care of while they are little, instead of waiting until they are big.

We did not do much for our anniversary.  Kaanas came home for lunch (at 2 in the morning).  When he got home after work we looked at houses together and talked about what we wanted and what our life was going to be like in 10 years.  Kaanas slept (part of working nights is that you typically sleep all day), we had dinner, then he went back to work.  It was not an exciting day, but it was the kind of day we have been living for the past 6 months, the kind of day I want to spend the rest of my life living.

Leave a Reply

